Kaya FC-Iloilo bagged its first crown in the Philippines Football League (PFL) as it ruled the 2022-2023 season with one match left in its schedule.

Kaya, which will still face Stallion Laguna FC on Saturday at 4 p.m. at the Rizal Memorial Stadium, has been proclaimed champion following the 0-0 draw result of the match between Dynamic Herb Cebu FC and Stallion last Wednesday.



As it stands, Kaya holds a 17-1-3 win-draw-loss card to lead the team standings with 52 points while Dynamic Herb finished at the second spot with a 15-6-1 slate and 51 points followed by Stallion, at 10-2-8 record.

This gives Kaya FC its first taste of a PFL championship after six years following several runner-up finishes against Ceres Negros FC and United City in the previous editions.

Meanwhile, the Azkals Development Team decided to withdraw from the tournament as announced by the league earlier in the week. In a statement, the PFL said that the ADT had already notified the league as well as the Philippine Football Federation (PFF) regarding its decision to pull out from the tournament.



All remaining games of the team will result in a 3-0 score in favor of the opponents.

ADT said in a separate post that “events imposed upon us in recent weeks have compelled us to take this action”.

“With a heavy heart, the Azkals Development Team announces its withdrawal from the Philippines Football League effective immediately.”

“ADT was formed to complement the Philippine Football Federation’s efforts to continuously prepare young Filipino athletes for international competitions, including the Southeast Asian Games.”

—Bea Micaller/JMB, GMA Integrated News

Source link